You know how great authors sometimes experience “writer’s block”?  I think the same thing happens to scrapbookers.  On occasion, we simply freeze up when it comes to creating a new layout.

I certainly have experienced this awful sensation in the past.  I’ve noticed that it most often occurs right before I scrapbook photographs that are extremely important to me.  For instance, last summer I was creating a memory album for my fiancé as a gift to him for our wedding.  When I got to our proposal pictures, I stared blankly at the 12 x 12 sheet before me.  The scrapper’s block had hit me!  I sat there for hours.  I was so fearful that I would “mess up” my preservation of one of my life’s most important memories!

What are we to do when scrapper’s block strikes?  Here are 5 great suggestions from your friends at Pages for the Ages.  🙂

1.  Take a deep breath and reason with yourself!

We live in the age of digital photos!  Realize that if you accidentally went haywire while cropping your photo or your pet dog just ran over and crinkled your picture, you have a digital backup of it on your computer, Facebook, or some other photo website like Shutterfly.  (You do make backups, right?  If not, get on that ASAP!)

2.  Take a coffee break.

If you’ve been working on your albums for several hours at a time, maybe you just need a little recess.  Let your mind think about something else for awhile and then come back to it.

3.  Look for ideas online.

Still can’t think of a good layout?  There are plenty of FREE resources online!  Just try Googling “free scrapbook layouts”.  I know a good YouTube tutorial or two out there to get you thinking.  😉

You can also get out of the house and check out scrapbooking books from your local library or just browse through them at Borders or Barnes & Noble.  For layout inspiration, I suggest the book Scrapbook Page Maps: Sketches For Creative Layouts by Becky Fleck.

4.  Play with shapes.

When I get stumped, sometimes I go back to the basics.  I start cutting out basic geometric shapes – circles, squares, triangles, etc. – and then put them on a background.  Try making some shapes in varying sizes and putting them on a background.  Sometimes, those “simple” pages turn out being the most elegant.

5.  Play a word association game.

Grab a piece of paper and a pen or pencil.  Now, for 60 seconds look at the photos you want to scrapbook and list adjectives and nouns which you associate with those pictures.  For instance, with my proposal pictures I would have written: woods, flowers, green, forest, lilac, camping, warm, etc.  Finally, use those words to direct you in picking out paper and accent pieces for you project.

I hope you find these ideas helpful the next time you’re stuck in the Scrapper’s Block.  The most important thing to remember is – don’t get discouraged!!!

Help out our readers by telling us YOUR ways to find scrapbooking inspiration in a comment below.

